Georgia Film Critics Association Announces 2016 Award Winners

By Chris Lentz | Leave a Comment | Published 7 years ago
Georgia Film Critics Association Announces 2016 Award Winners

The Georgia Film Critics Association (GAFCA) was established in 2011 with the intentions of promoting film criticism and the film industry within the state of Georgia. As one of the newest members of the GAFCA I was so pleased to participate in the nomination and winner voting process for 2016.

Best Picture

  • "Arrival"
  • "Hacksaw Ridge"
  • "Hell or High Water"
  • "Jackie"
  • "La La Land"
  • "Loving"
  • "Manchester by the Sea"
  • "Moonlight"
  • "The Nice Guys"
  • "O.J.: Made in America"

Best Director

  • "Arrival" - Denis Villeneuve
  • "Jackie" - Pabblo Larraín
  • "La La Land" - Damien Chazelle
  • "Manchester by the Sea" - Kenneth Lonergan
  • "Moonlight" - Barry Jenkins

Best Actor

  • Casey Affleck ("Manchester by the Sea")
  • Colin Farrell ("The Lobster")
  • Andrew Garfield ("Hacksaw Ridge")
  • Ryan Gosling ("La La Land")
  • Tom Hanks ("Sully")
  • Denzel Washington ("Fences")

Best Actress

  • Amy Adams ("Arrival")
  • Annette Bening ("20th Century Women")
  • Ruth Negga ("Loving")
  • Natalie Portman ("Jackie")
  • Emma Stone ("La La Land")

Best Supporting Actor

  • Mahershala Ali ("Moonlight")
  • Jeff Bridges ("Hell or High Water")
  • Ben Foster ("Hell or High Water")
  • John Goodman ("10 Cloverfield Lane")
  • Lucas Hedges ("Manchester by the Sea")

Best Supporting Actress

  • Viola Davis ("Fences")
  • Greta Gerwig ("20th Century Women")
  • Naomie Harris ("Moonlight")
  • Nicole Kidman ("Lion")
  • Michelle Williams ("Manchester by the Sea")

Best Original Screenplay

  • "Hell or High Water" - Taylor Sheridan
  • "Jackie" - Noah Oppenheim
  • "La La Land" - Damien Chazelle
  • "The Lobster" - Efthymis Filippou, Yorgos Lanthimos
  • "Manchester by the Sea" - Kenneth Lonergan

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • "Arrival" - Eric Heisserer
  • "Fences" - August Wilson
  • "Moonlight" - Barry Jenkins
  • "Nocturnal Animals" - Tom Ford
  • "Silence" - Jay Cocks, Martin Scorsese

Best Cinematography

  • "Arrival" - Bradford Young
  • "The Handmaiden" - Chung Chung-hoon
  • "Jackie" - Stéphane Fontaine
  • "La La Land" - Linus Sandgren
  • "Moonlight" - James Laxton
  • "Silence" - Rodrigo Prieto

Best Production Design

  • "Arrival" - Patrice Vermette, Isabelle Guay
  • "Jackie" - Jean Rabasse, Halina Gebarowicz
  • "La La Land" - David Wasco, Austin Gorg
  • "The Nice Guys" - Richard Bridgland, David Utley
  • "Silence" - Dante Feretti, Wen-Ying Huang

Best Original Score

  • "Arrival" - Jóhann Jóhannsson
  • "Jackie" - Mica Levi
  • "La La Land" - Justin Hurwitz
  • "Lion" - Hauschka, Dustin O'Halloran
  • "Moonlight" - Nicholas Britell

Best Original Song

  • "Audition (The Fools Who Dream)" - Justin Hurwitz, Pasek and Paul ("La La Land")
  • "City of Stars" - Justin Hurwitz, Pasek and Paul ("La La Land")
  • "Drive It Like You Stole It" - Gary Clark ("Sing Street")
  • "How Far I'll Go" - Lin-Manuel Miranda ("Moana")
  • "I'm Still Here" - Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings ("Miss Sharon Jones!")
  • "The Rules Don't Apply" - Eddie Arkin and Lorraine Feather ("Rules Don't Apply")

Best Ensemble

  • "20th Century Women"
  • "Everybody Wants Some!!"
  • "Hell or High Water"
  • "Hidden Figures"
  • "Manchester by the Sea"
  • "Moonlight"
  • "Sing Street"

Best Foreign Film

  • "Elle"
  • "The Handmaiden"
  • "Neruda"
  • "Things to Come"
  • "Toni Erdmann"

Breakthrough Award

  • Mahershala Ali ("Free State of Jones," "Hidden Figures," "Kicks," "Moonlight")
  • Alden Ehrenreich ("Hail Caesar!," "Rules Don't Apply")
  • Lily Gladstone ("Buster's Mal Heart," "Certain Women")
  • Lucas Hedges ("Manchester by the Sea")
  • Barry Jenkins ("Moonlight")
  • Angourie Rice ("The Nice Guys," "Nowhere Boys: The Book of Shadows")

Best Animated Film

  • "Finding Dory"
  • "Kubo and the Two Strings"
  • "Kung Fu Panda 3"
  • "Moana"
  • "Zootopia"

Best Documentary Film

  • "13th"
  • "Gleason"
  • "I Am Not Your Negro"
  • "O.J.: Made in America"
  • "Weiner"

Oglethorpe Award for Excellence in Georgia Cinema

Each year, the Oglethorpe Award for Excellence in Georgia Cinema is bestowed upon a feature film or short film that was produced in Georgia.

  • "The Nice Guys" - Shane Black, Anthony Bagarozzi
Tags: Movies, awards

About The Author

I am the creator of FilmFed and a member of the Georgia Film Critics Association.

Post a New Comment

Sign In to Comment


  • No comments found.